Five Polish universities among the winners of the European Commission competition "European Universities"

Photo: Fotolia
Photo: Fotolia

Five Polish universities are among the winners of the European Commission competition "European Universities". In total, the EC selected 17 consortia of higher education institutions that received grants for the development of cooperation in the areas including education, research, technology transfer.

The list of selected 17 (out of 54 submitted) consortia was announced in June. The pilot competition is financed from the Erasmus+ programme.

The Polish members of the victorious consortia are: Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, the University of Gdańsk, the University of Opole, the Jagiellonian University in Kraków and the University of Warsaw.

International university networks (European Universities) will cooperate with each other in the areas including education, research, technology transfer and mobility of researchers, students and administration staff.

In total, the consortia will receive 85 million euros over the period of three years. Each of them - a maximum amount of 5 million euros. The EC increased the competition budget, originally planned at 65 million euros, which was planned to be divided among 12 consortia.

The University of Warsaw belongs to 4EU+, whose members also include the Sorbonne University, the Heidelberg University, the Charles University in Prague (from March 2018), as well as the University of Copenhagen and the University of Milan (from October 2018).

The University of Gdańsk is a member of the consortium "European University of the Seas". This group also includes: Universidad de Cádiz (Spain), Sveučilište u Split (Croatia), Université de Bretagne Occidentale (France), Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (Germany ) and L-Università ta` Malta (Malta).

The Jagiellonian University is a member of UNA Europa, composed of seven universities: the Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium); Université Paris 1 (France); the Complutense University of Madrid (Spain), the Free University of Berlin (Germany), the University of Edinburgh (Great Britain), the University of Bologna (Italy) and the Jagiellonian University.

The Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań is a signatory of the EPICUR consortium (European Partnership for an Innovative Campus Unifying Regions). Its partners are: the University of Strasbourg (project leader, France); the University of Amsterdam (Netherlands); the Albert-Ludwigs-University of Freiburg (Germany); Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (Germany); the University of Upper Alsace (France); Universität für Bodenkultur Wien (Austria); Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece).

The University of Opole is a member of the FORTHEM consortium, which also includes Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (Germany), Jyvasylan Yliopisto (Finland), Latvijas Universitate (Latvia), Universita Degli Studi di Palermo (Italy), Universite Dijon Bourgogne (France).

According to the EC release published on its website, the selection of European Universities includes a broad range of higher education institutions from across the EU, from universities of applied sciences, technical universities and universities of fine arts to comprehensive and research-intensive universities.

PAP - Science in Poland, Szymon Zdziebłowski

szz/ agt/ kap/

tr. RL

The PAP Foundation allows free reprinting of articles from the Nauka w Polsce portal provided that we are notified once a month by e-mail about the fact of using the portal and that the source of the article is indicated. On the websites and Internet portals, please provide the following address: Source: www.scienceinpoland.pl, while in journals – the annotation: Source: Nauka w Polsce - www.scienceinpoland.pl. In case of social networking websites, please provide only the title and the lead of our agency dispatch with the link directing to the article text on our web page, as it is on our Facebook profile.

More on this topic

  • 22.03.2024. Deputy Minister of Science and Higher Education Andrzej Szeptycki. PAP/Leszek Szymański

    European degree will increase attractiveness of studying in Poland, says minister

  • Warsaw, 12.05.2021. Main Gate of the University of Warsaw at Krakowskie Przedmieście in Warsaw. PAP/Albert Zawada

    University of Warsaw is Poland's best public university, says new ranking

Before adding a comment, please read the Terms and Conditions of the Science in Poland forum.